I like remembering the greats

Eash, I promise that’s the most sentimentality that you’ll ever get in any of my blog titles.

Two posts today, but this one’s just going to be short. Just about an hour from the time that I’m starting to write this marks the 50th anniversary of the plane crash that killed Buddy Holly, Richie Valens, and J.P. “The Big Bopper” Richardson. It’s the event that inspired Don McClean to write the song “American Pie,” in which the day gained its common nickname, “The day the music died.”

Here are just three songs from these guys to commemorate their lives. If you haven’t given any of them a listen in awhile, buy a CD or two and check them out again.

Buddy Holly – Peggy Sue … You’ll have to forgive the bad audio. This video is more just to see the environment that these guys were making their music in.

Richie Valens – Oh Donna … Again, sorry about the audio quality. You’d be amazed how hard the RIAA punks have made it to find good copies of these songs on YouTube.

The Big Bopper – Chantilly Lace … Here’s another live video that’s great for showing just how much things have changed since then.

1 Comment

Filed under I like...

One response to “I like remembering the greats

  1. Meredith

    I am officially distraught that I linked to your site from Art Boulet. I have wasted the entire morning reading your blog and watching your you tube links and laughing hysterically. Congratulations, your blog does what you intended it to do. You are a horrible, horrible, successful person.

    I distinctly remember *not* having time for this kind of silliness when I was at WTS.

Leave a Reply

