I like opposable thumbs

hammertime

**Update: In the comments section for this post, Liz mentioned some mosaic tile graffiti-type stuff that she’s seen in a couple different places. I looked around for a little while and found the artist’s website. Check it out: Space Invaders!**

The ability to think on one’s feet when in a bathroom stall with a permanent marker is the only thing that separates us from the animals. And with the dark forces of PETA gathering in Mordor and growing stronger by the day, it is a privilege and a distinction that we must assert early and often. No matter how close monkeys (why is that not “monkies”?) might be to us, they will never, EVER, have the intellectual capacity and good sense to draw alien eyes on a Donald Trump poster and write “I’ve got your soul” next to his face. Not ever.

The problem is, I live in the suburbs where people don’t vandalize things too often (only peasants do that). And I go to a seminary, so the only things written on the bathroom walls there are the occasional rebellious NT Wright quotes followed by “Wright is wrong!” and closely after that, “God answers kneemail, FTW!”  So where can I go to catch the best in cutting edge property debasement?

Fortunately for me, someone has gathered together a gallery of walls with writing on them and made it available for public perusal. With a name as witty as some of the pictures contained therein, Pictures of Walls is the best place on the internet to find some interesting, funny, witty, and completely pointless graffiti. A lot of the stuff in here has vulgarity in it, so if that offends you, stay away. There’s also a lot of stupid stuff in the galleries, but when you find one of the good ones it more than makes up for it. So go check it out and enjoy the fruits of someone else’s mischievous bravery.

If you’re looking for something a little more artistic, you’ve got to check out a guy named Banksy, one of the most famous graffiti artists in the world. He’s done stuff all over the world and his graffiti is some of the most politically charged and clever stuff I’ve ever seen. Here’s his website: Banksy.

Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under I like...

3 responses to “I like opposable thumbs

  1. we taught on sharing your faith at youth group last Sunday night. We asked a 6th grader how he would define the word “evangelism”. The student paused for a moment then answered firmly

    “Isn’t that when you break stuff that’s not yours”?

    “Not exactly, that’s vandalism”.

    true story

    Also in Banksy’s self portrait he’s wearing a small gold cross. hmmmm Spreading beauty, random art, redeeming dark places…hmmmm i’m just saying.

  2. liz

    I LOVE Banksy!!!! I got to see a few of his ‘pieces’ a couple of months ago when I was in London. I appreciate his wit and commentary. And, might I say that I’m quite surprised another WTS student has even heard of Banksy (who, BTW, is not professing)!?! I felt like WTS (with exceptions like Bill Edgar and Al Groves) was bankrupt when it came to pop culture and art. Have you seen the tile mosaics that are cropping up all over the world? I have no idea who the ‘artist’ is but I’ve spotted several in Amsterdam and Chicago. Also, look for the robots in Rittenhouse Square–very fun!

  3. WTS definitely isn’t the place to come if you want to interact with pop culture or art. Dr Edgar is about all we’ve got, but he’s actually teaching a class called ‘Christianity and the Arts’ this spring. I’ll be in it and I’m looking forward to it.

    I poked around the internet and found those tile mosaics you mentioned. They look awesome. I’ll put a link on the top of the post.

Leave a Reply

